Options

Need help with a VBS script

joehalford01joehalford01 Member Posts: 364 ■■■□□□□□□□
I'm totally a beginner here, this is the most complicated script I've attempted beyond simple batch files. I'm going to post this on some vbs forums but I'm hoping someone here might be able to help too. I'm trying to read multiple text files grabbed by extension and write out a specific record from each one to a separate text file. I keep running into issues with line 23; it says there is no object specified and I can't see where I need to add the additional object. Any vbs gurus in the house?
'Grab any file with a .DAT extension
'Search file for record 100
'Output record 100 to another file

set fso = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")

dim fso
dim infolder
dim outfolder
dim infile
dim outfile

set infolder = fso.GetFolder("c:\Scripts\test files")
Set outfolder = fso.GetFolder("c:\Scripts\ready files")
set outfile = fso.OpenTextFile("c:\Scripts\ready files\totals.txt")

for each file in fso.GetFolder(infolder).Files
  if (fso.GetExtensionName(file.name)) = "DAT" then
    basename = fso.GetBaseName(file.name)
    infile = fso.BuildPath(infolder, basename & ".DAT")
    'readin = fso.OpenTextFile(infile, 1, True)
    set stream = fso.OpenTextFile(infile, 1)
    Do Until infile.AtEndOfStream
  'line = infile.ReadLine
  'If Mid(line, 1, 3) = "100" Then _
    'outfile.WriteLine line
loop
end if
Next
stream.close
Wscript.quit

Comments

• Options
    -Foxer--Foxer- Member Posts: 151
    I'm not sure how to help with VBS, I'm not the best at it (plus the code isn't displaying right on my phone), but have you thought about using powershell instead? For me powershell is much easier to use than VBS.
  • Options
    RobertKaucherRobertKaucher Member Posts: 4,299 ■■■■■■■■■■