Options

Payback at work

2»

Comments

• Options
    pham0329pham0329 Member Posts: 556
    xirtlook wrote: »
    I'm always calling out the network engineers when making cables.

"if you dont get it on the first try, I'm taking your job".

(im not a network engineer yet)

The last time I actually made a cable, was when I was wiring my house. I probably wouldn't be able to make one without the diagram sitting in front of me. Why spend time measuring, cutting, crimping when I can grab one off of the shelves?
  • Options
    xirtlookxirtlook Member Posts: 124
    yeah, just about the only time we make ends, is when we're trying to make our datacenters/labs look cleaner so we shorten the cables.

the one time during work, during reconstruction, they accidently cut some of our cables, so I had to re-terminate the ends. it was that or re-running the wires.
    nerd power.
  • Options
    advanex1advanex1 Member Posts: 365 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I'm in the Army... I've never used pre-made cable. It takes around 30-45 seconds to make a cable and it's quite a bit cheaper with the bulk that we use it in. I've done 3 full CP moves since I've been in Iraq this time and it's over 50 users each time.. gets pretty quick after a while :p Can wire a building for 50 (2 machines each, 2 phones each), patch cables and all.. that's only me doing it. I don't mind this aspect of the job, building up really gives me confidence in being able to setup a shop from the ground up. You guys probably have more experience though.

I do like the small cable though, smallest one I've seen thus far. :)
    Currently Reading: CISM: All-in-One
    New Blog: https://jpinit.com/blog
  • Options
    xirtlookxirtlook Member Posts: 124
    damn 45seconds? you're the man. It takes me 2-3minutes. then again my tools are limited lol.
    nerd power.
  • Options
    arwesarwes Member Posts: 633 ■■■□□□□□□□