Options

subnet question

AndrewA1981AndrewA1981 Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
Good day!

I am studying for ICND1 and have a question on subnetting

more of a why than how, what is the point of subnetting a private network? If a router is needed to pass traffic between subnets why not just use a new network?

for example you need 3 networks that can each support 200 hosts, why not just use 192.168.1.0, 192.160.2.0, 3.0 etc.

It's extremely possible I am confused in this matter but I would like to clear it up, thank you for any help

Comments

• Options
    techie2012techie2012 Member Posts: 150
    Good day!

I am studying for ICND1 and have a question on subnetting

more of a why than how, what is the point of subnetting a private network? If a router is needed to pass traffic between subnets why not just use a new network?

for example you need 3 networks that can each support 200 hosts, why not just use 192.168.1.0, 192.160.2.0, 3.0 etc.

It's extremely possible I am confused in this matter but I would like to clear it up, thank you for any help

Well yeah, if you needed 200 hosts per network then you would use a /24 which would provide you with 254 hosts per subnet. What if you only needed 50 hosts though. Then you would need to subnet the network that you have to a /26 and the subnets would be 192.168.0.0, .64, .128, .192.
    (CCNP: Switch) Passed!
    (CCNP: Route) Goal: 11/15/12 Progress: 75%
    (CCNP: TShoot) Goal: 12/15/12 Progress: ​50%
    (Perl Scripting) Ongoing :study:
  • Options
    I see, although I'm curious why using another network wouldn't also work in this situation? Say you need any number of hosts on a private network, what is the underlying reason to use subnets instead of using a new network?
  • Options
    WebmasterWebmaster Admin Posts: 10,292 Admin