Options

Future of IT?

rapyokerapyoke Member Posts: 27 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everybody, I'm currently a 19 year college student working part-time as a network administrator (I really love my job, the people are great and I'm the go-to IT guy on a lot of days). I currently have my CCNA, MCP, and MCTS, and am studying for my B.S. in I.T. and CCNP. The plan is ultimately to move into security (I've heard security is difficult to break into right out of school).

My one concern is that computers are becoming easier and easier to configure, and with the prevalence of cloud or internet-based services (as well as the bandwith to support them) it seems to me like there won't be a demand for competent IT people for very long. I was thinking of switching majors to go into C.S., but I'm not very good with math. Can anybody provide some feedback, or possibly just reassure me that I've made the right career choice?

[X]70-270 - Configuring Windows XP Professional
[X]70-680 - Configuring Windows 7
[X]640-802 - CCNA
[ ] MCITP

Comments

• Options
    EveryoneEveryone Member Posts: 1,661
    Doomed, the end is near! Become a Liberal Arts major while you still can! Save yourself!

j/k ;)

There are quite a few threads on this out there already.
  • Options
    Version4Version4 Member Posts: 58 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Hi rapyoke,

Congratulations on your achievements! You have done very well for yourself and that is great!

My suggestion to you would be to do what you love and what comes natural. If you love IT Systems and Networking and have a direct passion for it that is not monetarily related, you will continue to excel. Be an expert in your field, which it sounds like you are on your way, and you will never have to worry about not being in demand.