Options

Passed SYO-301

TeKniquesTeKniques Member Posts: 1,262 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hi Folks,

Just thought I would report that today I sat and passed the Security+ SYO-301 exam with a score of 850. This was my first IT certification exam in about 5 years. I took such a hiatus pursuing professional golf, which unfortunately didn't work out so I'm back in the career that I love. I've been working in the field for about 9 years now.

I used the following material over a span of a month and a half to prepare:

Mike Meyer's Security+ Passport by Samuelle -- Decent, would of probably not been enough by itself, but nonetheless memorizing this book you would probably pass. I read it front to back and referenced when I needed to.
UCertify exam kit -- Good prep material. Practice exams were very decent with good explanations.
Darril Gibson's SYO-301 Practice Questions Kindle Edition -- This was excellent. The questions were harder than the actual exam IMO.

My exam was pretty straight forward, you either know it or you don't. I found myself knowing the answers to the questions as I was reading them most of the time which is always a good sign.

As for what's next I was hoping to get some advice from the forum. I'm looking to pursue a career in InfoSec so I was thinking SSCP would be the next logical course for me, but I was also pondering upgrading my MCSE to MCITP: EA. I guess I'm not sure if it's worth it? There's also the fact that the CBK for SSCP is changing in Feb 2012 so maybe hold off?

At any rate, this forum is a wonderful reference and the members are so helpful. If you're in the US, have a good holiday this week!

Comments

• Options
    Dakinggamer87Dakinggamer87 Member Posts: 4,016 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Congrats on pass!! icon_thumright.gif
    *Associate's of Applied Sciences degree in Information Technology-Network Systems Administration
    *Bachelor's of Science: Information Technology - Security, Master's of Science: Information Technology - Management