Options

Starting My CWNA Journey

Hello to all!

Today I decided to push for my CWNA. I am going to take the test sometime in December, most likely in the third week of the month.

As a background of myself, I have a N+, A+, CCENT, and CWTS.

For study materials, I will use the CBT Nuggets for CWNA, and the official CWNA Study Guide from Sybex.
Brocade: BAIS, BACNS, BAEFS Cisco: CCENT, CCNA R&S CWNP: CWTS Juniper: JNCIA-JUNOS
CompTIA: A+ (2009), Network+ (2009), A+ CE, Network+ CE, Security+ CE, CDIA+
Mikrotik: MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCWE, MTCTCE VMware: VCA-DV Rackspace: CloudU

Comments

• Options
    YuckTheFankeesYuckTheFankees Member Posts: 1,281 ■■■■■□□□□□
    I started studying for the CWNA but I choose RHCSA and RHCE first. Let me know how you like the video's.

Do you want to get a job in wireless/wifi/802.11?
  • Options
    Corndork2Corndork2 Member Posts: 266
    I actually already work in a NOC position in a company that does large wireless deployments, and uses high speed wireless backbones (60Ghz / 80Ghz Bridgewaves, Athena, Dragonwave, etc). So, I pretty much already have a wifi/80211 based job.

The certification will hopefully make me eligible for promotions within the company that I work
    Brocade: BAIS, BACNS, BAEFS Cisco: CCENT, CCNA R&S CWNP: CWTS Juniper: JNCIA-JUNOS
  • Options
    Nice, keep us up to date on studies..good luck
  • Options
    JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,031 Admin
    Large companies usually look to certifications as an indication of people who are serious about learning their craft. I work in a NOC too, where having a CCNA is a minimum and a CCNP is preferred. If we did wireless, I'm sure the CWNA/CWSP would be right in there as well.
  • Options
    Will this cert ever become a household name?
  • Options
    Im not sure about "household name" , but the CWNA already has a great name in the Wireless Networking Industry.
  • Options
    Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□