Options

I am MS certified.....in NT 4. How to get to Server 2008 Cert?

araczekaraczek Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
I just started looking back into my MCSE certification and realized I am only certified up to NT 4 although
I have been working with Server 2003 for several years. I know the certifications have changed so I was
wondering what would be the equivalent of an MCSE in Server 2008? And I know it would be a stretch to ask if
there is some kind of upgrade path to 2008.

If I have to start from scratch so be it. Having just passed Security+ thought I'd continue on before I get too lazy.
But I was also thinking of going towards a specialty in Security, VMware, SAN storage or Cisco. Been an admin a
bit too long. But for my job I need to be certified on all the OS's I use.

If you have info you can point me to or can tell me more that would be great. I just don't have a whole lot of time
to go pouring over dozens of web page links. icon_wink.gif

Comments

• Options
    TeKniquesTeKniques Member Posts: 1,262 ■■■■□□□□□□
    The equivalent to an MCSE on 2008 is the MCITP Enterprise Administrator.

More information: MCITP (Microsoft Certified IT Professional) | Training Courses for IT Professionals

Pretty sure you'll have to start from scratch as I believe the only upgrade path options available that exist any more are from 2000 to 2003 and then 2003 to 2008.
  • Options
    ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■
    There is no upgrade path available to MCSEs on NT or 2000. MCSE on NT cannot be upgraded to MCSE 2003 (never could be directly upgraded), and the MCSE 2000 upgrade path exams are retired.
    MCSE Certification | MCSE Training | Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer

You will need to start from scratch. I would recommend this order: 70-640, 70-642, 70-680, 70-643, 70-647

If you follow TeKniques' link or Google those certifications, you will see the certification requirements.