Options

Need Lab Advice - Buy a server?

astrogeekastrogeek Member Posts: 251 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hey all I'm kind of stuck with the lab I've been building lately. I'm currently studying CCNP Route material, (mostly on my work laptop and home PC), but also have been building a dedicated lab mostly based on a CCIE lab as described here: CCIE Lab using GNS3 and Quad Nics for Switches | FAQ So in a nutshell what I currently have are (3) 3550 switches, and then I had planned to connect these via (3) quad nic cards on the PC running GNS3 for all my routers. I had everything up and running and working just fine, then the motherboard for the PC I was using decided to die. It's not worth replacing because the motherboard is from about 2003, (and the processor really can't run more than 3 routers anyway), so I need an upgrade.

What I noticed though is that it seems it would be a lot cheaper to simply buy a used Dell server, such as a Dell Poweredge 2850 off of e-bay for around $300 than upgrading the PC I was using. Upgrading to a new motherboard and CPU would easily cost more than $300, not to mention the quad nics won't fit in most modern ATX motherboards. One more benefit I see with buying a Dell 2850 is that it has 3 PCI-X slots which would fit my 3 quad nics, which are also PCI-X. These cards worked fine in my old motherboards PCI slots, but almost all newer motherboards either have capacitors or the southbridge in the way so these wouldn't fit without cutting them.

So basically I just wanted to know if this seems like a bad idea. I don't know if many others are using a PC or server running GNS3 to connect to real switches, I've noticed a lot of people here seem to prefer actual hardware, but I'm trying to be cheap icon_lol.gif I'm not sure how the performance of the 2850 would compare with a modern PC but I'd imagine it would be more than enough for my needs and a good deal for around $300.