Options

Degree Done, New Job Offer!

Finally it looks like things are starting to come together for me.

Last week I finished my MIS degree with a 3.4 final GPA.

Also, I just got offered a Systems Administrator position for a very well known firm that is willing to pay for any Microsoft exam that I take as well as pay for me to take a week or two per year of classes at Microsoft itself. I'm still working on negotiating a bit higher pay but am confident that we'll be able to make it work. This was the first time I've ever counter-offered an offer so we'll see how it goes.

Now I'm trying to figure out how to give two-weeks notice while leaving on good terms. From everything I've seen, my current employer always lets people go the day they give notice but because of the need for my position they might make an exception.

Overall it feels great to be out in the market again a degree and people actually wanting me. I can't wait to start this new job and feel like I have an actual career for once.

Comments

• Options
    ZartanasaurusZartanasaurus Member Posts: 2,008 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Akaricloud wrote: »
    Now I'm trying to figure out how to give two-weeks notice while leaving on good terms. From everything I've seen, my current employer always lets people go the day they give notice but because of the need for my position they might make an exception.
    "I need to give my current employer 2 weeks notice. In the past, they've let people go that same day, so I may be available to start earlier than 2 weeks if that's possible."

Worst case scenario, you get 2 weeks unexpected vacation to not think about IT. Take care of some stuff that you've been putting off because of school/cert studies.
    Currently reading:
    IPSec VPN Design 44%
    Mastering VMWare vSphere 5​ 42.8%
  • Options
    AkaricloudAkaricloud Member Posts: 938