Options

System Administration Tools used in real world.

halaakajanhalaakajan Member Posts: 167
Hello everyone.

I am a student and was wondering what 3rd party softwares and other tools are used in System administration. Tools for NAS/SAN, Data Backup,Security and more.

Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    UnixGuyUnixGuy Mod Posts: 4,564 Mod
    halaakajan wrote: »
    Hello everyone.

I am a student and was wondering what 3rd party softwares and other tools are used in System administration. Tools for NAS/SAN, Data Backup,Security and more.

Thanks.

Hi, welcome to the forums.

It depends on the environment and the technology used. There are a variety of 3rd party monitoring tools such as HP OpenView, BMC Patrol, Oracle OPS Center,..etc. Those monitoring are used to monitor the systems and generate alerts, sometimes they can also be used to do certain system administration tasks and configurations.

For SANs/NAS, it depends on the vendor. Every storage system comes with a tool for configuration and administration tasks, so there's no universal tool for that. However, recently there are certain vendors that introduced tools to control Storage systems from different vendors, this technology is sometimes referred to as "tiered storage Virtualization". Popular storage vendors: Hitachi, EMC, NetApp, IBM, HP, Oracle, ..etc.

For backups, in the past when systems were simple and data was small in size, scripts were written to store the backup on tapes using tape drives. Nowadays, this is not sufficient so Enterprise Backup software is used such as Symantec Netbackup, Symantec Backup Exec, IBM Tivoli Storage Manager, Legato NetWorker, ..etc. Usually this backup is stored in Tape Libraries and sometimes on Disk arrays.

For Security, on the network side: firewalls, Intrusion detection systems, Antivirus/Anti-Spam. Combination of software and hardware devices are used for this purpose. Famous vendors: McAfee, Symantec, Cisco, Juniper, Check point,....