Options

Which should I do? 70-640 or 70-642?

shaX 07shaX 07 Member Posts: 65 ■■□□□□□□□□
I need to do either the 70-640, 70-642 or 70-643 to fulfill requirements for an application specific certification that I am planning on getting in the next year or so (an electronic medical record).

I just wanted some input from some folks who may have any or all of the above mentioned certs and see if you have a recommendation on which one I should go for?

My background is as follows: Worked as a network admin for about 9 months, got absorbed by a larger hospital where I spent 2 years doing help desk / desktop support, and have recently moved into a technical position for workstation management for our new EMR software.

I have some experience with AD and networking, though my networking experience is limited. Last summer I got my A+, and a year ago I got my Security+ and Network+ in the same week.

Thanks all for the input.
Certifications: A+, Network+, Security+, Server+
Vendor Certs: Epic Client Systems Management, Epic Client Systems Management w/ Hyperspace Web
College: B.S. - Computer Information Systems

Comments

• Options
    erpadminerpadmin Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
    If you are comfortable with Networking, go for the 70-642. Actually, even if you went with the 70-640 you would need some networking knowledge. The 70-642 and the 640 have tremendous amount of overlap.

But if you have to get any of these exams within a short amount of time, stay away from the 70-643.
  • Options
    shaX 07 wrote: »
    I need to do either the 70-640, 70-642 or 70-643 to fulfill requirements for an application specific certification that I am planning on getting in the next year or so (an electronic medical record).

I just wanted some input from some folks who may have any or all of the above mentioned certs and see if you have a recommendation on which one I should go for?