Options

CompTIA certifications

marhomarho Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I'm novice here and I hope that I will gain new experiences and knowledge about Microsoft and CISCO from this forum. And also I will try to be benefit to this forum as will be possible icon_wink.gif.

I explored a little this forum and I found CompTIA certifications icon_surprised.gif. I've never heard of that. Please can you tell how much are these certifications accepted or required from employers? And, of course this is maybe stupid question, how much are CompTIA A+, NETWORK+ and SECURITY+ different in difficulty from CCNA or CCNP Switch.

Please be considerate of my bad English. I come from Slovak Republic and we don't use English as national language icon_cry.gif.

Kind regards,
Martin Holkovič

Comments

• Options
    lordylordy Member Posts: 632 ■■■■□□□□□□
    If you are already a CCNA then there is no need to even look at Network+. Many people do Network+ before CCNA as a first step.

Security+, from my point of view, is an entry- to mid-level security certification. It seems to be well known in the US but isn't very popular in the EU from my personal experience.
    Working on CCNP: [X] SWITCH --- [ ] ROUTE --- [ ] TSHOOT
    Goal for 2014: RHCA
    Goal for 2015: CCDP
  • Options
    marhomarho Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
    So you think that it is better to learn the CCNA Security instead of Security+?

And please, can you tell me which kind of certifications are accepted in EU? I heard only about CISCO and Microsoft.
  • Options
    CodeBloxCodeBlox Member Posts: 1,363 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Comptia certs seem to be more or less entry level. I wouldn't have gotten this helpdesk job without them though. As said, I'd skip network+ if you've got CCNA.
    Currently reading: Network Warrior, Unix Network Programming by Richard Stevens
  • Options
    SteveLordSteveLord Member Posts: 1,717
    They're entry/foundation level certifications. That's it.
    WGU B.S.IT - 9/1/2015 >>> ???