Options

ICND1: Is Boson just really time consuming or am I really unprepared?

Magik SmokeMagik Smoke Registered Users Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all, I've been studying off and on for about three months. I've finished the CBT nuggets videos, read Lammle's book and done Frame Relay/Serial and RIP on GNS3 and real equipment.

I bought the Boson test sim during the holiday special and have been working on it for a month. I'm scoring 90-100% but the tests are taking me a couple of hours... The RIP labs (If you own it you know what I'm talking about) are taking 30 minutes or more.

Do I need to find a quicker method of subnetting or is the Boson sim just time consuming?

Comments

• Options
    vinbuckvinbuck Member Posts: 785 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Boson is desgined to be incredibly difficult and mirror the test environment so that you get used to providing the knowledge Cisco wants in the format they want. This is critical because so many questions may appear to be beyond your knowledge at first glance, but once you get over the shock factor and start dissecting what the question is asking, oftentimes you'll find that you know the answer or have a good idea but just aren't familiar with the formatting of the question....

Welcome to self-imposed torture aka Cisco testing icon_smile.gif

Two hours is a little on the long side to get through one test and you should probably see what areas take you the most time to answer. Subnetting should be 30 seconds for less to determine an answer - this is about the speed you need to have to be successful in the CCENT and CCNA level exams.
    Cisco was my first networking love, but my "other" router is a Mikrotik...
  • Options
    Todd BurrellTodd Burrell Member Posts: 280