Options

Military and IT Certs

otakuotaku Member Posts: 43 ■■■□□□□□□□
This question is for active and retired armed forces members, I have a couple years of experience in IT and I am thinking about enlisting in either the Navy or Army. Can anyone shed some light on your experience. Was it what you thought it would be?, Are there any (dis)-advantages to having certs if I choose to enlist? Does it really matter if you have any certs prior to enlisting? Which branch is more cyber security focused ? I am very interested in network security. I am currently self studying for my Net+, I have acquired my A+ already. I plan on getting my Security+ and CCENT as I am transitioning into a network support role at my current job and my manager has required that I get this by 08/2012.

Thanks in advance and Thanks to all who have served and continue to do so.

Comments

• Options
    WafflesAndRootbeerWafflesAndRootbeer Member Posts: 555
    Certs will help you look good once you are in the military, as they give promotion points for them and certs are sometimes considered to be mandatory for specific technical jobs depending on how things are run at the command you get stationed at, but they do relatively nothing for you as far as your enlistment ranking goes and you will have to go through the basic tech school training like everyone else, no matter what you have under your belt. If you've got actual experience and previous job roles, those will certainly help you, but the military does things their own way and it's not often pretty compared to how the private sector does things.
  • Options
    otakuotaku Member Posts: 43 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Thanks, when say "not pretty"..can you elaborate if you can
  • Options
    otaku wrote: »
    Thanks, when say "not pretty"..can you elaborate if you can