Options

PC nerd in training!

frubinfrubin Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello fellow IT students, techinicains and engineers!

I'm not new to the IT industry, and have some basic knowledge of IT plus completing City & Guilds E-Qual Level 1 and OCR Clait for IT Users (New CLAIT) Level 1 certificates.

I normally come from a science/health medical background and worked in the NHS, however due unfortunate circurmstances, i lost my job in July 2011 and have been unemployed since. So i decided to change my direction and pursue futher in IT as i was also interested in IT system support and learn how to maintain and repair's PC.

I am now a student and started a City & Guilds Diploma for IT Practitioners LEVEL 2 in Janurary. I am hoping that i will able to pass this course go get the CompTIA A+ certification plus the IT Essentials 1 Certificate for Completion – CISCO ACADEMY and it will able to open up a new door to another oppotunity and career as a IT Techinican (entry level). From there i then hope to progess to do Advanced Diploma for IT Professionals Level 3 and gain a MCTS certification too.

I will let you know i get on with the course, and obviously as this part of IT will be new to me, i'll will most likely be asking for help and advice for my course.

Regards,

Yvonne

Comments

• Options
    cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    Welcome aboard!
  • Options
    Thanks.

Managed to pick up the book needed for the course: CompTIA A+ certification exam guide seventh edition by Mike Meyers for a budget price of £18! =)
  • Options
    CodeBloxCodeBlox Member Posts: 1,363 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Welcome and enjoy the studies! Stay away from the brain ****!
    Currently reading: Network Warrior, Unix Network Programming by Richard Stevens
  • Options
    Daniel333Daniel333 Member Posts: 2,077 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Good luck! What's your timeline for A+?

Have you also looked at CCENT? The A+/CCENT combo seems to build a well rounded entry level tech.
    -Daniel
  • Options