Is 70-642 easier than 70-640?

smoovedogsmoovedog Registered Users Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
I've been a network administrator for almost 10 years. Have a good knowledge of AD, server OS, networking, etc. Time to finally get my certs though (gee ya think?). Obviously I will still need to study to pass them.

For those that have taken these tests, my plan is to take 640-642-646 to become MCITP. I am just wondering which order to go in if I would like to take the tests from easiest to hardest. 642 seems alot less cumbersome than 640, some of the principals and all are a little more familiar to me after reviewing some of the documentation for both.

Thanks!

Comments

• erpadminerpadmin Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
    smoovedog wrote: »
    I've been a network administrator for almost 10 years. Have a good knowledge of AD, server OS, networking, etc. Time to finally get my certs though (gee ya think?). Obviously I will still need to study to pass them.

For those that have taken these tests, my plan is to take 640-642-646 to become MCITP. I am just wondering which order to go in if I would like to take the tests from easiest to hardest. 642 seems alot less cumbersome than 640, some of the principals and all are a little more familiar to me after reviewing some of the documentation for both.

Thanks!

Can you subnet? Are Networking subjects easier for you to grasp? If so, then 642 should be taken first.

Regardless though, 642/640 has A LOT of overlap. However, I passed the 642 in one shot, as opposed to the 640 where I passed in two shots. But the 642 was a much more comfortable exam, albeit somewhat difficult, but doable with proper study.
  • smoovedogsmoovedog Registered Users Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
    erpadmin wrote: »
    Can you subnet? Are Networking subjects easier for you to grasp? If so, then 642 should be taken first.