Options

Security Plus 301 - Passed it today!

gibby1gibby1 Member Posts: 8 ■■■□□□□□□□
I used the Comptia Security Plus Get Certified Get Ahead SYO-301 Guide by Darrell Gibson. I started studying the book a couple of weeks ago, and went through the entire book...cover to cover. I hit the wall and just could not study anymore last night...so, I took the exam.

I saw a few items on the test that were not in the book, and luckly I was prepared...

Understand and recognize Fraggle - similar to smurf, however uses UDP packets that direct at port 7 (echo) and port 19 (chargen)...I'm not saying this was on the test...just be prepared.

know your ports!

Good luck...301 was a good adventure!

Gibby.

Comments

• Options
    4_lom4_lom Member Posts: 485
    How hard would you say the exam was? I am getting ready to take it within the next few months. I had a class on it, but never got around to actually taking the cert exam.
    Goals for 2018: MCSA: Cloud Platform, AWS Solutions Architect, MCSA : Server 2016, MCSE: Messaging

• Options
    Dakinggamer87Dakinggamer87 Member Posts: 4,016 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Congrats on pass!! icon_thumright.gif

What's next?
    *Associate's of Applied Sciences degree in Information Technology-Network Systems Administration
    *Bachelor's of Science: Information Technology - Security, Master's of Science: Information Technology - Management
    Matthew 6:33 - "Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need."

Certs/Business Licenses In Progress: AWS Solutions Architect, Series 6, Series 63
  • Options
    DarrilDarril Member Posts: 1,588
    gibby1 wrote: »
    I used the Comptia Security Plus Get Certified Get Ahead SYO-301 Guide by Darrell Gibson. I started studying the book a couple of weeks ago, and went through the entire book...cover to cover. I hit the wall and just could not study anymore last night...so, I took the exam.