Options

Passed Security+ YEHAW!!!

RufioRufio Member Posts: 25 ■■■□□□□□□□
First I passed Comptia Security+ an hour ago with a score of 855. icon_biggrin.gificon_cheers.gif I'm sure glad that is over. I hardly got any sleep last night as I replayed symmetric encryption, asymmetric encryption, hashing, policies, and port numbers through my head like a bad rerun.

Now let me try to help those who were like me before taking this exam. I am a new comer to the IT world. I jumped into IT while taking business classes at a University and decided that I loved IT networks and security. So I finished my undergrad with an Information Systems degree. I'm now enrolled in an MSIS degree, which is a little helpful in understanding the content. I have no experience in the field. As for the University training, it's nothing that can't be replaced by Darril Gibson's book so don't factor that in when analyzing what I share.

The test for me was challenging. I have opted out of taking a University class so that I could replace it with industry certifications. However, I'm required to have 3 certifications completed by April 30th. I started the Security+ material 2 1/2 weeks ago and ate it up. I read all of the chapters, took all of the practice tests, and than both of the complete exams in the front and back of Darril's book. I would say that Darril is right when he says to know why every answer is either right or wrong. The practice questions are similar to about 1/2 of the questions in the practice exams. The question is one line and you either know it or you don't. The other 1/2 require a little more thinking. The problem I often had was determining between two good answers. When the book says "this is the best" or "this is the most" or something stated about superior or slight differences in functionality...Star it in your brain. I can guarantee you'll need it.