CCNA gear setup help

JustFredJustFred Member Posts: 678 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello guy's I just registered and hope to be a member of this community after lurking for a while.

I'm new to Cisco and would need some help with my home lab setup

I recently saved up and had a budget for

2 2950s
2 1721 with SHDSL installed
1 1841 with SHDSL V3

Not much but i think more than enough for my CCNA studies.

My question is how do i connect both the 1721s and the 1841 to each other?

What type of cable do i need?

I could not fine how do connect these and i was hoping someone here would be kind enough to help.

Thanks in advance
[h=2]"After a time, you may find that having is not so pleasing a thing, after all, as wanting. It is not logical, but it is often true." Spock[/h]

Comments

• alxxalxx Member Posts: 755
    Do you have any serial wic's (wan interface cards) for the 1721 and 1841 ?

You'll need at least one in each and two in one router if using wic1t's
    Or just one in each using wic2t's.

And also the cables to go with them.

Could also use wict1dsu instead (think 1841 only supports the wict1dsu-v2)
    Cisco 1800 Series Integrated Services Routers Interfaces and Modules - Cisco Systems

May also want another switch or if budget allows a 3550.

You might wantw
    hwics are more expensive but can have more features.

For the 1700's you can also get a wic1ent which gives an extra network port if needed.
    Depends on which serial wic's you use if you will have a wic slot spare or not.

How much ram and flash do the routers have ?
    show version tells you
    Which ios image you can run depends on the amount of ram and flash.
    Goals CCNA by dec 2013, CCNP by end of 2014
  • JustFredJustFred Member Posts: 678 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Thanks for your reply,

I guess am screwed and will have to sell the SHDSL cards for wic1ts or wic2ts. I was very excited only to find out i cannot even use these.