Options

Took CISSP exam 2/11 in Dallas

NiftySwiftyNiftySwifty Member Posts: 19 ■□□□□□□□□□
So, I took my long awaited CISSP exam this past weekend in Dallas and thought I'd document my experience.

My background: 10 years as an enterprise architect working in the service provider industry, 4 years as enterprise architect in the financial industry and the last 5 years as corporate security officer for a credit card company

I started studying at the end of November, and read and studied the Conrad CISSP study guide cover to cover, along with various white papers and internet resources. In January, at the suggestion of a friend, I purchased Exam Cram 2nd edition and read that as well. Along the way, I had a copy of Shon Harris AIO that I used as a reference whenever I felt the other two books had not covered a topic well enough. With a week to go, I did over 700 practice questions with the Total Tester engine and I was scoring 85-95% on each domain. I read the entire associated chapters in Shon Harris AIO in the four lowest domains. On the Friday before the exam, I read the 11th Hour book cover to cover (it's only like 200 pages), just as a refresher. I feel it really helped.

For the first 2 months I was averaging about 2 hours a day. For the last two weeks, (I was between contracts) I was averaging 8 hours a day.

One good resource nugget I ran across was this one: Fundamentals of Information Systems Security/Information Security and Risk Management - Wikibooks, open books for an open world. It's a little light on detail, but is a very good review aid, IMHO.

I arrived at the testing center at 8:00AM. I'm a smoker, so I inquired about smoke breaks. Just an FYI: SMOKE BREAKS ARE NOT ALLOWED, and once you've signed in, you cannot leave. So, if you're a smoker, I recommend getting that last cigarette in right before 8:30 and then being the last guy to sign in. :)