Options

New CCNA student with some questions.

xbuzzxbuzz Member Posts: 122
Hello guys. I just started studying for my CCENT a few days ago, plan to take my ICND1 in first week of next month hopefully (i've alot of time to study atm, already most way through CBTNuggets video and Odoms book).

I decided to buy a lab that would see me through CCNA to be a good base for further studies, but they haven't arrived yet.
2x CISCO2610XM
1x CISCO2610XM Dual Serial interfaces
2x WS-C2950-12

They should arrive today hopefully, but I read that even if you have the gear, it would be worth getting familiar with some simulation software. I downloaded GNS3, but it seems I need an IOS file image, which you can only download from cisco. I don't currently work for any company I could get the IOS off, but since I have bought some routers, would that give the rights to download the IOS software (if so how would I go about it?) or is it possible to pull a copy of the IOS off the routers/switches myself to use in GNS3 (and is this legal etc)?

Any help is appreciated, thanks.

Comments

• Options
    GOZCUGOZCU Member Posts: 234
    I recommend you to stick with your hardware for now. It is for sure enough for CCNA exam. I have almost the same lab. Also it is possible to connect your lab to GNS3 and use them at the same time.I took the IOS files from my university but I don't know how to find them normally at the public places. Still, if you can not, dont worry. Your lab will get you to the CCNA
  • Options
    alexotecalexotec Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
    If you really want to use simulation software and can't use GNS3, Packet Tracer is suitable for CCNA. It has all the commands you need for your CCNA. Of course your own labs are always better.
  • Options