Options

How is the Real World of IT ?

halaakajanhalaakajan Member Posts: 167
Hello TechExamers!

I am currently a student and never did any job before and will be graduating soon by God's grace. Can you please guide me and tell me more about the real world ? Do employers expect you to know everything and saved in your brain or do you guys use guidelines, instructions or use search engines like google to solve problems. How much time do the boss expects to take a problem to be solved and are the IT teams in big number in companies ? do they teach you when you are not able to solve a task. Thanks a lot guys. :) God bless

Comments

• Options
    TurgonTurgon Banned Posts: 6,308 ■■■■■■■■■□
    halaakajan wrote: »
    Hello TechExamers!

I am currently a student and never did any job before and will be graduating soon by God's grace. Can you please guide me and tell me more about the real world ? Do employers expect you to know everything and saved in your brain or do you guys use guidelines, instructions or use search engines like google to solve problems. How much time do the boss expects to take a problem to be solved and are the IT teams in big number in companies ? do they teach you when you are not able to solve a task. Thanks a lot guys. :) God bless

A lot of things are industrialised now. Process driven. Time game. Management approval based. All industries go that way.
  • Options
    RoguetadhgRoguetadhg Member Posts: 2,489 ■■■■■■■■□□
    ... The first thing that went through my mind, landing a first Tech job is "Toto, we're not in Kansas anymore." Highschool didn't teach me squat about the real world.

Everyone's human, you're not expect to know everything. I rely on documentation I made to save me through most issues - topologies, backups, pictures. Because I won't remember what wiring of the security camera in the ceiling goes to where.