Options

books for ccnp

PuffyPuffy Member Posts: 54 ■■□□□□□□□□
Just 2 questions,

1.)Read alot of bad reviews for the Switch OCG book on amazon. Is it that bad ?
2.)Would the Routing TCP/IP Vol 1 book by Jeff Doyle help me with the ROUTE exam?

Comments

• Options
    SharkDiverSharkDiver Member Posts: 844
    I passed by reading the OCG book and Chris Bryant's material.

I do remember that the OCG had whole chapters of material that the test didn't even mention. The Chris Bryant material was more accurate.
  • Options
    PuffyPuffy Member Posts: 54 ■■□□□□□□□□
    thanks will definitely check out the bryant
  • Options
    Legacy UserLegacy User Unregistered / Not Logged In Posts: 0 ■□□□□□□□□□
    @sharkdiver Good luck on the job hunt! Just curious what kind of experience do you have?
  • Options
    SharkDiverSharkDiver Member Posts: 844
    dmarcisco,

I have 17 years experience installing, programming, maintaining and troubleshooting business telephone systems for a phone company. In the last 5 years, we have become more data-centric which has led to me being the lead tech in the installation of Cisco routers and switches for Frame-Relay, MPLS and MetroEthernet. I have also recently been the sole tech on the installation of small Cisco phone systems.
  • Options
    Legacy UserLegacy User Unregistered / Not Logged In Posts: 0 ■□□□□□□□□□
    @sharkdiver your experience is pretty heavy duty. I asked because I plan on completing the same cert path you completed (ccna:v, ccna:s, ccnp). Just wanted to gauge your experience and compare it with myself. Just to see if once my cert goals are completed if I would be qualified enough to go for a network engineer role. Seems like finding employment for yourself shouldnt be to difficult.
  • Options
    NetworkVeteranNetworkVeteran Member Posts: 2,338 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Puffy wrote: »
    Just 2 questions,

1.)Read alot of bad reviews for the Switch OCG book on amazon. Is it that bad ?