Options

Just to share my experience and thoughts on exam preparation

Feb4TorontoFeb4Toronto Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
Just to share my experience and thoughts on exam preparation.

I was considering taking CISSP for over a year, but due to my workload over the past little while I had no brain capacity to study. I did a quick read of 1 domain a year ago but this was it.

I got back to study only 2 weeks prior to the exam which I admit was insane.

Week 1: I had Shon Harris video course from 2006 or 2007 which I watched on fast forward during the first week. I had to skip through some sections since I had to time my study to be done in one week. Overall first week I studied for about 3-4 hours a day. I could not absorb more new material atop of the day to day work activities. I ignored DR domain since this was the one I read a year ago and I didn't have time since I was quite behind already.

Week 2: I used Shon Harris AIO 5th edition book to review sections I was not clear on. I scanned the book for sections not covered in the video course. I took all tests in book. This took me 3 more days, at 4-5 hours a day. The rest of the week was practice tests from the CD that came with the book. I didn't have time for full exam, so I stick to the first practice test section. I took all them and I looked up every single question I answered wrong. I scored 80% - 85% in each section.

Night before: I glanced through new definitions that were added in 2012...

I didn't feel I was 100% ready but one more week would do it for sure. I was considering not taking the test and rescheduling, but it was too late for that and I decided to go and do my best.

I found the test quite interesting. It was heavy on processes, R&Rs, BCP/DR and other "soft" topics and quite light on technical ones.