Options

Icnd2

Ramair2kRamair2k Member Posts: 32 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey everyone. I have been studying for ICND2 ever since I passed ICND1 about two weeks ago. I have the Cisco Press ICND2 book as well as Todd Lammle CCNA study Guide (great book by the way.) I never feel ready. I have been studying Cisco, off and on, since 1998. I was in the IT field for 6-7 years before I got my current job working for an MSO. I am a Metro Ethernet Technician and our cores uses MPLS with Cisco CRS-8, ASR 9000, Juniper EX4200s, etc.. I wish I could land more of a hands on networking job than what I have now, but it has certainly helped me understand all this along the way.

I have heard people say that ICND2 is harder than ICND1. If so, how much harder? I feel I am ready for the test, but also feel like I need to brush up some more on a few topics. Do you ever really truly feel ready? haha...Hopefully I can sit the exam in a couple of weeks.

Mike

Comments

• Options
    matt333matt333 Member Posts: 276 ■■■■□□□□□□
    My impression of my ICND2 was that it was about the same if not easier. but you have to know ICND2 obj's pretty while and solid ICND1 knowledge. it will be a piece of cake. Good Luck on your ICND2
    Studying: Automating Everything, network API's, Python etc.. 
    Certifications: CCNP, CCDP, JNCIP-DC, JNCIS-DevOps, JNCIS-ENT, JNCIS-SP
  • Options
    jamesleecolemanjamesleecoleman Member Posts: 1,899 ■■■■■□□□□□
    The ICND2 is a tough exam. It goes way into depth about routing protocols, wan, acls, and switching. It goes a little bit more into subnetting. I used this website that someone else on this forum recommended. Practice Subnet Skills: A Place to Practice Your Subnetting Skills I suggest that you go to the design section (bottom left) and do vlsm stuff. This website has increased my score in subnetting by a lot on the test. I almost got 90% on that section. What kind of lab do you have?