Options

IT is a low-tier field. (Opinions?)

joshmadakorjoshmadakor Member Posts: 495 ■■■■□□□□□□
So IT is a low tier field, according to this controversial looking picture I got from the Facebook group: "Trust me, I'm an Engineer!". Original located here.

ezlnnk.jpg

This is actually something I think about a lot. I would even say that I would agree with this picture to an extent.

IT seems fairly "easy" in terms of the work I do. All the command-lines, interfaces, technologies etc I deal with were pre-engineered by people much smarter than me. I simply use advanced technologies and protocols that were developed by mathematicians, engineers, physicists and the like. I tend to feel dissatisfied with what I do.

Does anybody else feel this way? Thoughts on the picture? Opinions?
WGU B.S. Information Technology (Completed January 2013)

Comments

• Options
    vinbuckvinbuck Member Posts: 785 ■■■■□□□□□□
    It all depends on your role and what you aspire to. I got tired of building windows boxes on a help desk and now I design public carrier networks as part of a network engineering team. There is a big difference between making something work and designing an entire system end-to-end. The problems are more complex and thus more challenging, the risks of a mistake are greater and consequently the rewards and pay are greater. IF you don't feel that what you're doing is challenging and rewarding, then find a new direction. We live in a connected world of technology....there is no shortage of difficult problems that need solving in our industry.

Take it for what it's worth...some engineering guy thought it was funny. I'm not a classical engineer and probably couldn't do his job, but on the other hand, he wouldn't have a clue on how to do Network Engineering. Each has its place and level of importance.
    Cisco was my first networking love, but my "other" router is a Mikrotik...
  • Options
    ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■