Options

Erase flash lesson

JeanMJeanM Member Posts: 1,117
Issued this on one of my 2950-12s to really understand the process. I had a couple c2950 bin files on hand, so wanted to learn the recovery process since I've never done this before.

Putty i guess does not have xmodem, but Tera Term worked. Set the baud speed to 115200 on the switch and in the term software and only took a few minutes to load 3meg file.

Didn't "brick it" :)

This guide helped -
Recovering Catalyst Fixed Configuration Switches from a Corrupted or Missing Image - Cisco Systems
2015 goals - ccna voice / vmware vcp.

Comments

• Options
    CodeBloxCodeBlox Member Posts: 1,363 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Took me a few HOURS to transfer a file that was only a few megabytes in size using XModem... Did the same transfer using TFTP and the IOS was transferred in seconds.
    Currently reading: Network Warrior, Unix Network Programming by Richard Stevens
  • Options
    CodeBlox wrote: »
    Took me a few HOURS to transfer a file that was only a few megabytes in size using XModem... Did the same transfer using TFTP and the IOS was transferred in seconds.

Nice! I am going to need to set tftp up and see how that works next :) Can still be done even when flash is empty yes?
  • Options
    jibbajabbajibbajabba Member Posts: 4,317 ■■■■■■■■□□

If you are lucky and have tftp access... I think switches like the 3750 series don't have romom with a tftp client so XModem is your only way of doing that...
    My own knowledge base made public: http://open902.com :p
  • Options
    controlcontrol Member Posts: 309

Is it possible then to get an ip address on the switch/router from rommon to use tftp when the flash image has become corrupt?
  • Options
    jibbajabbajibbajabba Member Posts: 4,317 ■■■■■■■■□□
    control wrote: »
    Is it possible then to get an ip address on the switch/router from rommon to use tftp when the flash image has become corrupt?
    rommon 11 > IP_ADDRESS=192.168.1.5