Options

I.T. Job Interview Today

New2ITinCaliNew2ITinCali Member Posts: 184 ■■■□□□□□□□
HI ALL,

I had an interview today for a position in I.T. development and programming. There were 10 questions asked and the first question they asked me about my skills in knowledge with SQL, Visual Basic, HTML, web-enabled applications and project management. I have no prior experience in project management, but I am familar with the concepts. I also don't have web experience, but I said I am willing and able to learn. I have my BA in Management Information Systems and a 5 month internship. There was 1 question though that I don't think they liked my answer. They asked me this question:

If you were the only one in the I.T. Dept because your Manager and the other 5 co-workers went to a training seminar for 2 days and there was a database that the Accounting dept. could not access because the password isn't working and they are having multiple problems with it. You are very unfamiliar with the database and have never worked with it before. What would you do?

I said I would refer to the developer who created the database and then the interviewer said, "What if the developer is one of the co-workers that is on a 2-day training." I then said I would refer to any manual or information that would assist me in resolving the problem. If I am unable to find any technical support information I would then have no choice but to contact the developer.

It didn't seem like he liked my answer by the expression on his face. Does it sound like I answered the question ok?

Comments

• Options
    halaakajanhalaakajan Member Posts: 167
    Documentation....Documentation....Documentation....Documentation....
  • Options
    cat6cat6 Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
    So what is the correct response?
  • Options
    halaakajan wrote: »
    Documentation....Documentation....Documentation....Documentation....

What do you mean documentation?! I'm confused...???
  • Options