Options

Just received a nice offer

NobylspoonNobylspoon Member Posts: 620 ■■■□□□□□□□
I am currently making $35/hr but due to a hiring freeze last year, I am still a contractor. My boss recently left the company to work somewhere else and just offered me a six figure salary to join him. The only issue is I would have to move back to NY. I just moved away from there a couple of months ago, lol. Also, the work is less technical and more project management.

I informed my current company that I had a very generous offer presented to me and they are scrambling to get approval for a counter offer. It's starting to get awkward though. I was being vague about where the offer came from so it would not jeopardize the relationship my former boss has with my company but the head of my division wants a copy of the offer letter. The two of them have worked side by side for years so I am sure they still maintain a close relationship.

The offer was over the phone so I have requested him to send me a written offer to review. Hopefully my current company is able to provide a decent counter offer so I can stick with them. The full time perks are really good (6% 401K, 4 weeks vacation, etc.) and I wouldn't have to relocate (until next year...).

Fingers crossed.
WGU PROGRESS

MS: Information Security & Assurance
Start Date: December 2013

Comments

• Options
    shecklersheckler Member Posts: 201
    What kind of work do you do now at your current job?
  • Options
    NobylspoonNobylspoon Member Posts: 620 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I started as QA but now I am a Resident Engineer. I do a mix of product testing, server admin, network admin, consultant, trainer, etc. I was trying to distance myself further from QA and more in line with a security path. However, security testing is one of the things handled by this other company.
    WGU PROGRESS

MS: Information Security & Assurance
    Start Date: December 2013
  • Options
    the_Grinchthe_Grinch Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■