Wanting to start my CCNA

Carter.TechCarter.Tech Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey Guys,
This is my first time poster but I have been reading through the forums for a long time now. A little background… I am switching from my position as a personal banker and vault teller at a bank to wanting to get into the IT field – specifically networking and perhaps security as well and even maybe go into ccnp right away too. I have been spending the last few months learning terminology from A+, network+, and security+ cert guides and feel I am ready to dive into the ccna. I am hoping you guys will be able to help me find a decent lab setup for a decent price. I have searched the forums and am still pretty confused at what I will need for me. I have also read that there are a lot of sellers who are short changing you on hardware, cables, and ram so if anyone can help me find a good package that is loaded with the good stuff I would appreciate that too.

Being that I am hoping to get into ccna security and/or ccnp would I be better off buying a ccna lab and then adding onto it with what I would need for the security? Or would I end up having to replace it all for the security? The cheaper the better for me and I would prefer xm models. Just looking on eBay and this is what I am thinking of:

Cisco CCNA & CCNA Security Std 640-553 Combo Lab Kit | eBay
or

Cisco Advanced CCNA & Starter CCNP Lab Kit 2610XM/2621/2500/2924 | eBay
or

Cisco 2620XM 32F/128D Routers 2924 Switch CCNA CCNP LAB | eBay

I just really want to make sure I get a kit that will have all the stuff I will need so I won’t have to order anything else. Would you guys recommend any other kits or sellers? Is there anything extra I should be purchasing with these kits? Thank you guys so much for your help, I really appreciate it.

Comments

• ciscon00bciscon00b Registered Users Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
    My advice stay away from kits. Use GNS3 and PT for your CCNA studies and use a well written study guide.