Options

70-643 looks like a trap.

I'm studying up for 70-643, planning to take it sometime in the next couple of months. I've heard people state this is either the hardest or second hardest in the EA track, but I'm not seeing it in any of the study material I've been over so far.

Most of the stuff in the objectives are things I feel like I know backwards and forwards - I do WDS, clustering, Hyper-V and work with storage arrays pretty much day in and day out, and I'm familiar enough with terminal services from past versions that it hasn't been that hard to grasp what's new and different in 2008 R2 and RD Gateway and Remote App. IIS my one weak area because I've hardly touched 7.0, but it's not seeming that hard.

Still, something about this exam feels like I'm walking into a trap. I'm using the MS book (best source so far, but it feels like some things are glazed over), Testout (not bad, but I'm leary of any material that refers to a "32 bit version" of 2008 R2), the MS It Academy manual & labs (sucks, it has not been updated for R2, and I feel there are a couple of objectives this material is totally worthless for as a result) and Server 2008 R2 Unleashed as a supplement.

Does anyone have any other sources to go over, or know of any other lab manuals for this that are geared more toward R2?
"Start by doing what is necessary, then do what is possible; suddenly, you are doing the impossible." - St. Francis of Assisi

Comments

• Options
    ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Don't let it fool you.. I work ~75% of the exam content every week in production, and another 15% sporadically. I've re-read the MS Press book cover-to-cover multiple times. I've failed three times now. I get 80-90% on Transcender practice exams, but scored high 500s and low 600s in my real attempts. Each attempt has yielded some very different types of questions.

The non-R2 material is not helpful. You shouldn't even look at it, IMO.