Options

CCNP next, then what? Need help with goal setting

f0rgiv3nf0rgiv3n Member Posts: 598 ■■■■□□□□□□
A quick introduction:

I'm a network engineer that enjoys Virtualization, Network Security, and IT Strategy (Possibly CIO type stuff). Ever since the beginning of my career I set goals for certs and then as soon as I arrive I set another goal, etc...

Well, I think I'm at a fork in the road here after I get my CCNP. I have a bachelor's in networking and have gotten all my other certifications that I have really wanted to get.

I plan on getting my CCNP by the end of this year and then... look at master's programs? Has anyone taken any of the online IT master's programs out there, and do you actually get anything out of it? I'm just concerned that the material will be out-dated or not applicable. What about an MBA, for pursuing becoming a CIO?

I guess I'm just looking for ideas and what others have done in this situation. It seems that I'm changing my mind every week on what I want to do... I don't really want to go for CCIE, I enjoy being a well-rounded IT person.

Thoughts? Career counseling? lol

Comments

• Options
    N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    You kind of jumped there from the first part to CIO.

Honestly what do you want to do? You don't just get you CCNP and MBA and then become a CIO. There are few steps in between.

First off do you enjoy managing people? Do you like technology still?

Write your interest out and then start to sift through them eventually coming to a conclusion. You sound like a smart person with a lot of skills. How do you want to leverage those skills? You have more technical knowledge than I will ever have. Lot's of time and money invested in your career.

Chose wisely.
  • Options
    IristheangelIristheangel Mod Posts: 4,133 Mod
    First off, I just want to say that I admire your list of certifications.