Options

Masters or CCIE?

jasong318jasong318 Member Posts: 102
Hello all, I've really enjoyed reading these forums for the past couple months and have learned a lot from your responses. I now have a question for you guys that will hopefully produce some gems of knowledge that I've come to enjoy :)

I've been working in IT for 9 years, security for the past 2. I also just graduated from my local university with a BS in CS. I'm now at a cross roads. I can't decide whether to go ahead and start the WGU Masters in Info Security and Assurance program or pursue my CCIE Security. My current employer is a Cisco partner (and is a CCIE) so he is trying to get me to go ahead and commit to getting the CCIE first. He also has a Masters and sees it as not worth the time (his was from the same local uni, not WGU, not InfoSec). He's willing to help pay for the exam/lab attempts, training materials, and travel costs. This is pretty huge and I'm grateful for his confidence and his generosity. Although, it is not entirely altruistic as the company would benefit from having two CCIE's on the payroll as that bumps you up to Silver on the partner program.

On a day-to-day basis, I install/configure/maintain/troubleshoot Cisco security products for clients. I also provide pentesting and vulnerability assessment services, and that's what I most enjoy doing. I feel that getting my CCIE would kind of typecast me as a 'Cisco guy'. Plus, looking over job posting, most are looking for 'CCNP or CCIE', heck, I've even seen some ask for 'CCNA or CCNP or CCIE'. Not that I think I wouldnt be able to find a job with a CCIE, I just think having a Masters opens more doors. I can transfer 3 certifications into the program and be left with 25 CU's which I feel pretty confident that I can knock that out in one term.