Options

Will this work for a "CCNA" Home Lab to study?

Cubuntu28Cubuntu28 Member Posts: 37 ■■□□□□□□□□
I am currently studying for my CCENT, but I do plan on using a Home Lab when I study for my CCNA. Will the following suffice for a home lab? I have a friend of a friend who has these items for sale. Also, what do you think is a fair offer to make for these items?

Cisco 2511 access router with octal cable
Cisco 2503
Two Cisco 2513 routers
Sonicwall SOHO3 firewall.

Comments

• Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    No I wouldn't think that would be anywhere near enough. The Sonicwall is completely unrelated and won't be of any direct help. The routers are pretty old, but I guess you could learn your way around the CLI and basic routing with them. You would need switches as well.

Do a search through the forums and you will find all of the information you need. There have been plenty of threads explaining lab requirements.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    Thank you, that is what I was planning on doing before I purchase a lab. This just sort of presented itself unexpectedly, so I wanted to do a quick check :)
  • Options
    GOZCUGOZCU Member Posts: 234
    nope, i suggest you to use packet tracer instead of these equipments. if a home lab is essential to go with
    • Cisco 2600XM Series ---- > routers
    • Catalyst C2900/3500 Series ---- > switches
  • Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    I'd suggest against a simulator unless its your last resort. There is something to be said for the the experience of getting actual routers up and running. As the saying goes, nothing like the real thing. The cost can be prohibitive to some though.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    Carl_S_901Carl_S_901 Member Posts: 105