Pinging Problem

OscedumirOscedumir Member Posts: 55 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi guys i'm currently studying for my CCNA which I hope to take in a couple of months. I'm playing around with the network topology you see in the attachment. I have no issues whatsoever pinging from R1 all the way to PC2 and vice versa. Pinging to the interface IP's as well as the loopback ip's for each device works fine. Then I decided to add the Access Server and connect it to SW1. This is where i ran into problems... I cannot even ping from R1 to the Access Server or even from the switch to the AS Ethernet interface. I have tried adding static routes but I can't get it to ping. Can someone please tell me what i'm doing wrong and what I need to do to fix this? icon_sad.gif

If there's more information that you need that I haven't provided in the attachment let me know! Thanks guys....

Comments

• Darthn3ssDarthn3ss Member Posts: 1,096
    If those addresses are valid, the access server is on a different subnet than the rest of the hosts connected to the switch; unless you've got some kind of intervlan routing setup.
    Fantastic. The project manager is inspired.

In Progress: 70-640, 70-685
  • SomnipotentSomnipotent Member Posts: 384
    Oscedumir wrote: »
    Hi guys i'm currently studying for my CCNA which I hope to take in a couple of months. I'm playing around with the network topology you see in the attachment. I have no issues whatsoever pinging from R1 all the way to PC2 and vice versa. Pinging to the interface IP's as well as the loopback ip's for each device works fine. Then I decided to add the Access Server and connect it to SW1. This is where i ran into problems... I cannot even ping from R1 to the Access Server or even from the switch to the AS Ethernet interface. I have tried adding static routes but I can't get it to ping. Can someone please tell me what i'm doing wrong and what I need to do to fix this? icon_sad.gif