I am in a Bind!

Danielh22185Danielh22185 Member Posts: 1,195 ■■■■□□□□□□
For the past about month I have been doing a lot of applying to networking jobs. In the recent past there was a position opening within my company but I did not get the job icon_sad.gif

Anyway I kept applying but haven't had a ton of luck. So my Director approaches me yesterday and asks how I would like to start working with our Network Operations team maybe an hr or 2 a week to start building my skill sets. Naturally I accepted that with out even blinking. This would be a perfect opportunity to really get my feet wet with the technology and be able to put on my resume that I have some real networking experience.

Here's the kicker.

In my lye of looking for another job... A recruiter just calls me today asking to talk with me and he thinks I will be a great fit for a networking job coming up with a company, he had submitted me to the company and they wanted to schedule an interview. I figured what the heck, an interview never hurt anybody.

Well now I am in kind of in a toss up. I am trying to weigh what I should do should I get an offer with this place I am interviewing with. I really would only take it if it was a great deal, however I don't want to burn bridges and I feel like my director was really trying to look out for my best interest. I just don't know how well I will be immersed in with the small amount of time I am working with the network team at my current company and/or if that could even develop into a job.

Am I crazy for taking an interview / considering leaving if the gig ends up being great? My thoughts are I want to gain as much valuable experience as possible while I am still young.

Thoughts?
Currently Studying: IE Stuff...kinda...for now...
My ultimate career goal: To climb to the top of the computer network industry food chain.
"Winning means you're willing to go longer, work harder, and give more than anyone else." - Vince Lombardi

Comments