Options

Jobs

Jacob18Jacob18 Member Posts: 26 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have been going through the forums, reading whatever struck my fancy. I have some thoughts and would like to hear some views/thoughts/feedback.

1. I am an old geek, kaypro, learning programming with punch cards, portable computers that weighed 30lbs. I have no certifications yet. Looking at cissp. Work related cents like pmp. I am a project manager. I do have the experience.

2. I just never did them, deployments oversea, liberty calls, then family. Something had to done, how. Research it do it. Too busy working. I still operate on 18 hr days. Just have more time to reading/learning what I want.

3. Knowledge and being able to talk in manner to do and understand has worked pretty well. I bring subcontractors in. I do need to be able to talk to them and the "stake holders". Gotta love buzzwords.

Ok. Now the point. I have seen people discussing certs and jobs as if they should be synonymous. I have taken not taken a standardized test in 20 yrs or gotten a job with a resume or application even longer. Looking at the higher certs...cissp, gse,etc. the thought occurs to me if you have them you already have the contacts/networking to find a job advancement.

So I would suggest that younger ones think along those lines...just my thoughts.:)
Btw just for info and to prevent getting flamed..knowledge base. I just read through sec+, net+, a+, ccna books I have at the house..and cissp. Nothing really odd. Familiar even if the lingo has to translated a little...Linux is a little weak. Vertical learning curve for 30 yrs now. Wouldn't have it any other way..