Options

CISSP or SSCP advice

LutherBlissLutherBliss Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi-

I am currently a systems administrator with 4 years of who's aspiring to work in the infosec field. I am trying to decide which certification is appropriate for me, either SSCP or CISSP and would appreciate help determining whether I meet the appropriate requirements.

As a system administrator I am certainly involved with these areas of the CBK:
Access Controls - Granting permissions, managing ACLS, etc.
Operations Security: Patch management, vulnerability scanning and remediation, log monitoring
Telecommunications security: Network monitoring, firewall configuration

I also have 6 years experience working at a helpdesk, which I beleive would also qualify as Access Controls and Operations security.

I have a bachelors degree in Information Technology and hold the Security+ qualification.

In your opinion, do I meet the requirements for a CISSP? or should I sit the SSCP exam first?

Thanks in advance.

Luther

Comments

• Options
    kalkan999kalkan999 Member Posts: 269 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Four years experience with two domains, PLUS Security + is equal to the five years required to be a CISSP. Read the posts about both...both are a challenge, but CISSP definitely more challenging than the SSCP. Good luck to you with whatever road you choose.
  • Options
    JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,041 Admin
    Anyone can take the SSCP or CISSP exams at anytime. Only full certification requires having professional InfoSec experience plus an endorsement from a member of the (ISC)2 (that is, a current cert holder) in good standing. With your Security+ cert, you only need four years of InfoSec work experience in two domains to qualify for full CISSP certification. Because the CISSP will get you far more job market recognition than the SSCP, I always recommend going straight for the full CISSP if you already meet all of the qualifications.
  • Options