Contract work (Acceptable notice of release, hire, renewal)?

N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
Looking for some opinions

In your opinion what is an appropriate time frame that a contracting agency should notify if you will retained, hired on, released, etc? I am asking because I was told today that they would make a decision 45 days out. That to me seems a bit short. I usually been told several months in advance. Maybe I was a soldier of good fortune or just plain lucky, but IMO if the carrot is being dangled in front of you they should at least give you a few months to prepare for a new position.And if this is the case, do you consider it kosher to start looking for a position before your recent gig has expired? Ethically speaking

Thoughts?

Comments

• rwmidlrwmidl Member Posts: 807 ■■■■■■□□□□
    I would say get your ducks in a row (resume, etc) and then ask the agency what their intentions are.
    CISSP | CISM | ACSS | ACIS | MCSA:2008 | MCITP:SA | MCSE:Security | MCSA:Security | Security + | MCTS
  • N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I believe their intentions are to keep me in the 12 month contract as long as possible so they look good and keep good relations with the customer personally.
  • rwmidlrwmidl Member Posts: 807 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Remember, you have to look out for yourself/family. That comes first. If you think it is in your best intrest to explore your options, do it.
    CISSP | CISM | ACSS | ACIS | MCSA:2008 | MCITP:SA | MCSE:Security | MCSA:Security | Security + | MCTS
  • MrBishopMrBishop Member Posts: 229