Options

Routing between virtual networks

4_lom4_lom Member Posts: 485
I need to setup 2 virtual machines in VMWare for an Exchange test environment, each on their own network for isolation. However, they need to be able to communicate. Just wondering how I would go about routing between them? Sorry if this is an ignorant question, I'm fairly new to VMWare.
Goals for 2018: MCSA: Cloud Platform, AWS Solutions Architect, MCSA : Server 2016, MCSE: Messaging

Comments

• Options
    blargoeblargoe Member Posts: 4,174 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Forget for a minute they are virtual. In a physical environment, there would be separate switches or a switch with separate VLANs to which each VM would be connected. Then you would either have a separate router device connecting the two swtiches/VLANs, or if the switch supports layer 3, could handle the routing itself.

In VMware, you would handle it similarly. If you wanted to keep everything contained in VMware and not rely on physical equipment, you could put each VM on its own vSwitch, and then create a 3rd VM to serve as a router (there are free VM appliances out there that will function as routers). Connect a nic from the router to each vSwitch, configure the router, configure your VMs to use the router as their gateway, and you're all set.

You could also send the VM traffic through your physical nics to a physical switch and physical router, if the equipment you are using supports multiple LANs (a lot of your residential broadband routers do not)
    IT guy since 12/00

Recent: 11/2019 - RHCSA (RHEL 7); 2/2019 - Updated VCP to 6.5 (just a few days before VMware discontinued the re-cert policy...)
    Working on: RHCE/Ansible
    Future: Probably continued Red Hat Immersion, Possibly VCAP Design, or maybe a completely different path. Depends on job demands...
  • Options
    dave330idave330i Member Posts: 2,091 ■■■■■■■■■■
    The router VM can be a windows machine as well.
    2018 Certification Goals: Maybe VMware Sales Cert