ConpTIA Certificate for Australian Job Market

Hello,

Was just wondering if anyone has any taughts or insight into the Australian IT Job market.

I am planning to move to Australia in January 06, and was hoping that my CompTIA certs would stand to me. I read some website that the IT industry in Australia don't recognize them.

Needless to say i am gutted on hearing this news as i have put a lot of time and effort in getting certified in CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+.

At the moment i am studying for CompTIA Security+, and MCSA and hope to have them by the time i leave for Australia next year.

Any suggestions would be most welcome

Regards

Eamonn[/img]
Bachelor of Science in Computer Services Management - Limerick Institute of Technology
Higher Certificate in Science in Computer Services - Limerick Institute of Technology
Certificate Information Technology and Computing - The Open University
Certificate in Computing and Mathematics -The Open University

Comments

• mikey_bmikey_b Member Posts: 188
    CompTIA certifications are industry standard certifications supported by companies whose combined annual revenue probably exceeds the GDP of Australia, so I'm sure you will find plenty of employers out there who will recognise the hard work poured ino their certifications. Especialy multinational corporations, they will usually standardize on a certain HR framework for hiring IT personel, and if they have US/Canada/Europe offices, you can bet they'll care about those certs. They're called "industry standard" for a reason. And that MCSA should carry clout over there as well. Just give 'er and get certified, and then see what happens.
    Mikey B.

Current: A+, N+, CST, CNST, MCSA 2003
    WIP: MCSE 2003
  • PremierCiscoPremierCisco Member Posts: 221
    Thanks mikey_b for the reply

Much appreciated.

I taught that myself being that they are industry standard.

Just looking for clarification.