Options

How do you put it all together?

zenhoundzenhound Member Posts: 93 ■■□□□□□□□□
So I've been studying for the CCENT for a while now with the eventual goal of CCNA. I have some networking experience so a lot of the non-Cisco stuff isn't new to me. I felt like I had a pretty good grasp on the material but when I started taking practice tests (the ones packaged with the latest edition of Odom's book) I felt like my brain was about to melt. The ones that kill me are where they give you a network map and ask about some problem or process in the network (for example, pc1 pings pc3, what Mac address does it receive for pc3--wanting you to demonstrate knowledge of proxy arp). I can usually get to the right answer but it takes me a long time, and from what I've read time is a big issue on Cisco tests.

Are there any resources anyone can recommend that will help with these kinds of questions? Is it just a matter of taking more practice tests until I'm comfortable with them? At this point I dread seeing network maps, which is probably not good if you want to be a net admin..

Comments

• Options
    dave330idave330i Member Posts: 2,091 ■■■■■■■■■■
    How do you get to Carnegie Hall? Practice. Practice. Practice.
    2018 Certification Goals: Maybe VMware Sales Cert
    "Simplify, then add lightness" -Colin Chapman
  • Options
    apoole15apoole15 Member Posts: 64 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I agree. If you're usually able to determine the correct answer but it's taking you longer than you'd like, just keep practicing. You seem to have the fundamental knowledge down, now it's just a matter of practicing until you're able to glance at the topology and answer the question.
  • Options
    ciscoman2012ciscoman2012 Member Posts: 313
    As everyone else has said..if you truly want to learn and understand it there is no substitute for time and practice.

Oh and labbing, lots and lots of labbing.
  • Options
    QHaloQHalo Member Posts: 1,488