Cisco 2610 Router

joseph.federicojoseph.federico Registered Users Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm about to start studying for my CCENT exam. I have the Lammle 640-802 book and was thinking about buying a 2610 router off eBay as well. What else would I need, i.e. - cables, etc? I'm pretty novice here. I have experience with small Windows LAN but not much else. Any advice would be welcome. Thanks in advance!

Comments

• SomnipotentSomnipotent Member Posts: 384
    as long as it's less than $20, go for it. get two if you can. get a WIC-1T for each and a cisco DTE/DCE back to back cable to connect them together. the only few things you'll want to have a successful hardware lab would be a baby blue console cable with a USB to DB9 converter and i personally recommend a 2950 switch to go along with it.
    Reading: Internetworking with TCP/IP: Principles, Protocols, and Architecture (D. Comer)
  • joseph.federicojoseph.federico Registered Users Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Here's what I came up with:

Lot of 2 CISCO 2610 Routers WIC 1T and WIC 1BU Modules, Bragain | eBay

2 - 2610 Routers WIC 1T and WIC 1BU Modules
    - 1 with IOS (tm) C2600 Software (C2600-I-M), Version 12.0(7)T, RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc2)
    - 1 with IOS (tm) C2600 Software (C2600-JS-M), Version 12.2(12a), RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)
    CAB-6060 Back to Back DTE DCE WIC-1T Cable
    Console Rollover Flat Cable RJ45 DB9 1 pc,6Ft
    3Ft Translucent USB 2.0 to DB9 RS232 Serial Converter Adapter Cable
    CATALYST WS-C2950SX-24 SWITCH, 24 PORTS

Just under $113 for everything. Seems VERY reasonable to me for the purpose of setting up a lab and studying. What do you guys think?
  • SomnipotentSomnipotent Member Posts: 384
    i priced out 2x 2610s for about 15 bucks a piece... with a Cat2950 for $30, so that's $60. go to monoprice for your back-to-back cables (3-6 bucks depending on the length), cat5e cables go for $1, console cable can be had for $7.