Options

Need your opinions please

darrbajadarrbaja Member Posts: 10 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi all

Basically I need to do a choice between choosing to continue a 1 year degree top-up or accepting a post of Systems Admin (20k EUR/yr + fuel allowance + free mobile post paid).

Currently I got the BTEC Higher National Diploma in computer networks and I am also studying for CCNA on my own. As for job experience I got around 4 years as technical support.

I really wanted to finish up the degree, if not by lectures, at least through online study. However since this company mentioned that I'll be on call, I won't be able to attend lectures for the degree. On the other hand the only local college that offers online course, you need to create a software artifact (even though you select an IT track instead of CS). Since I've always selected the networking path, I wasn't exposed to java, C#, .net, etc. Therefore creating such artifact would prove a bit difficult maybe.

Essentially my dilemma is this:

Refuse the Systems Administrator Job + go for 1 yr top-up degree

OR

Accept the job + self-study for certifications such as Cisco and Microsoft (doing degree while on this job might not work out for me due to the need of attending classes x2 a week here).

Needless to say, it is not so often that you get such an opportunity with experience as technical support + BTEC HND only. Usually they ask for admin exp etc etc. These guys will be mentoring me too. This is why I am reluctant in letting this opportunity slip away....

What would you do in my stead? :)

Comments

• Options
    KEmmottKEmmott Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Firstly, congratulations on the offer of employment!!