Options

I finally did it! I am now an official IT professional!

bugzy3188bugzy3188 Member Posts: 213 ■■■□□□□□□□
About 7 months ago, I posted the following thread:

http://www.techexams.net/forums/jobs-degrees/71973-starting-wish-i-hadnt-looked-section.html

I was very disheartened by the expectations of almost all of the entry level IT positions,and I was in dire need of reassurance. I spent the next 7 months studying and doing labs with almost ALL of my free time. I spent countless hours reading book after book and learned A LOT!! in fact in my recent interview I was told that I had more technical knowledge than 90% of the college grads who had been interviewed for the same position.

I am proud to say that my hard work and perseverance has paid off! I just got the phone call that I had been waiting for and was told that I had been chosen for the full time Help Desk Analyst position which I had interviewed for last week. It's a modest starting pay at $12.25 an hour but its Monday through Friday and has regular hours.Furthermore I have been told that I will be in direct competition with the part time person who he has yet to hire for an Analyst position which he hopes to fill by the end of the year. This job took about 20% luck, and 80% tenacity to get and I could not be more happy right now...

For anyone who is looking to get in the IT field without a degree, it is sooooo possible! It took a lot of work and a lot of brushing my shoulders off but I did it!

Looking forward, I am working on my CCNA,and have actually decided not to get a degree in IT but rather, business. From what I have learned, I have realized that IT is easy for me to learn, and going to school for it would be a tremendous waste of time for me. I personally feel that a degree in business with a strong technical background and certifications would make me far more valuable, but that's just how I feel about my path, to each their own.