Is omitting my irrelevant major on resume iok?

HLRSHLRS Banned Posts: 142
like XXXX College, Bachelor of Science - 2009
I dont want to put my major because its so irrelevant to IT field. or its a red flag for HR?

Comments

• Darthn3ssDarthn3ss Member Posts: 1,096
    Unless you majored in Womans Studies or something silly like that, I'd include it.
    Fantastic. The project manager is inspired.

In Progress: 70-640, 70-685
  • blargoeblargoe Member Posts: 4,174 ■■■■■■■■■□
    ^agree.
    IT guy since 12/00

Recent: 11/2019 - RHCSA (RHEL 7); 2/2019 - Updated VCP to 6.5 (just a few days before VMware discontinued the re-cert policy...)
    Working on: RHCE/Ansible
    Future: Probably continued Red Hat Immersion, Possibly VCAP Design, or maybe a completely different path. Depends on job demands...
  • ChickenNuggetzChickenNuggetz Member Posts: 284
    Depending on what it is, I'd put it. I majored in Classics and still listed it on the resume. At the very minimum, they wont care and will just simply care about the fact that you have a bachelors. At the very most, they'll ask you about it, which will give you an opportunity to talk up any points you can think of on how your major gave you skills that could translate to the IT world. For example, with my Classics degree, I talked about how my major taught me logical thinking, problem solving skills, and how to write better.
    :study: Currently Reading: Red Hat Certified Systems Administrator and Engineer by Ashgar Ghori

Certifications: CCENT; CCNA: R&S; Security+

Next up: RHCSA
  • elderkaielderkai Member Posts: 279
    What they said. That and I'd say science would translate over to the IT in both future employer's perspective and otherwise. Maybe not subject matter, but no doubt it'd affect the quality of your thinking skills.
  • N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    You could just list Bachelors of Science, XYZ University.
  • JinuyrJinuyr Member Posts: 251 ■■□□□□□□□□