Options

CISSP domain requirements for software developers

certtaker34certtaker34 Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have some general questions about CISSP experience requirements. I don't know any CISSPs and we do not have any at my current workplace, so here goes.

- I have a graduate degree in software engineering
- I have 4.5 years of software development experience over 3 companies. During these 4.5 years I also did some freelancing/independent contracting, which hopefully would count as part-time experience, if needed.
- My exerpeince primarily ranges from Defense application and web site, enterprise tools, mobile apps, and e-commerce web sites.

The CISSP experience requirements are here. Does anyone with a CISSP know if my experience qualifies for any of the two domains? Is there a way to know before hand prior to wasting time studying only to find out I don't meet the domain requirements?

Also somewhat related, how can I get someone to endorse me (assuming I pass the exam)? Can I just convince any ole random person on linkedin? Is this such a big deal for the endorser as to make people not want to do it? How would this process go normally? Just tell them your experience or resume or ???

Comments

• Options
    emerald_octaneemerald_octane Member Posts: 613
    I'm not an expert on all the information so i'll leave that stuff alone but for what its worth, you can take the CISSP exam for the Associate of ISC2 designation (as I have) which has no experience requirements and affords you six years to get the required experience.

Point is don't bother putting off your studies while trying to figure out if you have enough experience because you have plenty of time to get it . I know your full time experience will count for something but your part time experience won't.
  • Options
    beadsbeads Member Posts: 1,531 ■■■■■■■■■□