Options

CCNA Security, here we go

GOZCUGOZCU Member Posts: 234
I am feeling myself a certificate eater in these days, As some of you know that I have been working for 2 months for an IT company where I love and feel like it is my own company. Mostly i have to deal with vpn(ipsec,l2tp..) IDS logs examining and firewall configuration. I love what i am doing and i learnt most of the things on the job training.

I don't have a security related certificate and I want to have a solid fundamental knowledge for this area. At least , when i work for a bigger cooperation at the feature, i should be able to communicate easily with the security team .

Due to this, I have decided to gain a CCNA Security certificate.

I will start tomorrow :)

And will schedule the exam for September....

Any suggestions, books or tips will be appreciated :)

Ah ah, you know what, my only dream is to live in Norway in a sweet cottage with my 2cats and a dog... I should study a lott...

Comments

• Options
    hiddenknight821hiddenknight821 Member Posts: 1,209 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Welcome aboard on the CCNA Security journey. I'm done with studying, and now I'm reviewing before I take the exam hopefully by the end of week. I'm waiting for the voucher to book the exam.

So far, I use GNS3, Paquet Cisco Press book, and Boson ExSim Max. By the way, I'm studying for the 640-553, which expires at the end of September, and to be honest, I don't feel like I am learning a lot from it compares to my CCNA study. No wonder why many here have claimed that this exam is easier than the CCNA.

I think I would learn more from the newer version (640-554) since it has ASA included in the objectives. After you are done with the CCNA Security, you should move to the CCNP level, which will probably serve you better for your daily job activities. You will not learn L2TP VPN in the 640-553 but only IPSec (IKE) Site-to-Site and SSL VPN. I can guarantee you that.
  • Options