Options

preparing for 70-640 exam

DreadJuniorDreadJunior Member Posts: 36 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi everyone!

I'm preparing for the 70-640 exam. Below are the resources i have.

VIDEOS:
IT FreeTraining Videos ~done
CBT Nuggets 70-640 ~partially viewed

BOOKS:
MS-Press Configuring Windows Server 2008 R2 ~ icon_study.gif now on chapter 3
Pearson-MCTS 70-640 Cert Guide

i'm planning to take it by Aug/Sept. Any tips/resources/advice would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    LunchbocksLunchbocks Member Posts: 319 ■■■■□□□□□□
    If you have the capability to create a test lab, that would be extremely beneficial. I am studying for the 640 and hope to test in 4 weeks. I am following the same track as you except for the Pearson book; I'm not using that one. But I do have a lab set up currently with 2 2008 R2 servers and 4 2008 Server Core on 1 domain, and 2 2008 R2 servers on a second domain.

Good luck!
    Degree: Liberty University - B.S Computer Science (In Progress)
    Current Certs: CCENT | MCTS | Network+
    Currently Working On: Security+
    2020 Goals: CCNA, CCNP Security, Linux+

• Options
    joehalford01joehalford01 Member Posts: 364 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Lab lab lab. Finish all the coursework, then design your own domain from scratch, add domains to it, set up a CA system, the whole bit.
  • Options
    pumbaa_gpumbaa_g Member Posts: 353
    Agree on that, this is a killer if you are not comfortable with Group Policies. I will also pay a lot of attention to certificate services
    Try and give a few sample exams/mock tests and then see your weak points and review from Windows 2008 R2 Unleashed. In my case, I had to go back to the CbT Nuggets and the Study Guide and then review R2 Unleashed to help me understand
    [h=1]“An expert is one who knows more and more about less and less until he knows absolutely everything about nothing.” [/h]
  • Options
    DreadJuniorDreadJunior Member Posts: 36 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Lunchbocks wrote: »