Options

Need help with certification path

uunrlg_143uunrlg_143 Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi,
I need some advice on how to proceed. I work as a technical Support agent. so i have some basic understand of computers. I was planning to get into the networking field but i don not have any prior networking knowledge. My friends suggested me to start reading CCNA. I did start after a couple of lessons i feel like I am lost.

I did a few research abt any pre-requestie for CCNA and i came to know that finish Comptia A+ sucessfully will help me understand CCNA (IS IT TRUE!!!!)

If i decide to do A+ again there are some subdivisions. like A+ Essentials , Network and other. So i need some advice on where to start my networking journey. It know it is a vast ocean but it has to be started some where and i an not sure abt the starting point.

If some one can advice me on where to start and the path to proceed will be of great help !!!

Thanks
Sam !!!

Comments

• Options
    Concerned WaterConcerned Water Member Posts: 338 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Studying and completing A+ will not help studying for CCNA. Based on what you said, I recommend you start at CompTIA Network+ for fundamentals. Then you should move on to CCENT or CCNA.
    :study:Reading: CCNP Route FLG, Routing TCP/IP Vol. 1
    SWITCH [x] ROUTE [ ] TSHOOT [ ] VCP6-NV [ ]
  • Options
    Scott10214Scott10214 Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I agree with Concerned Water .
    I currently hold A+ & Network+ and have completed the CCNA course and Graduated from the program and are studying for the CCENT and I would suggest that If you are truly serious and can afford it enroll in a Cisco program.

Just reading a book my give you the general knowledge to pass a test but not the ability to function in the real world

Good Luck
  • Options
    PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    @uunrlg_143,

The A+ exam consists of two exams that need to be passed prior to being considered A+ Certified.